Testimonials

 

Interfaith, Law Enforcement, Elected Officials and Others
March 2010

Know Your Conspiracies:
NEWSWEEK's guide to today's trendiest, hippest, and least likely fringe beliefs

 9. The Council on American-Islamic Relations is trying to infiltrate Capitol Hill and spread jihad. 
 Author Dave Gaubatz alleges that the mainstream group is both connected to Islamist terrorists and  international jihad and is working to infiltrate the American government by placing interns on Capitol  Hill.

 Proponents: Dave Gaubatz, Sen. Tom Coburn (R-Okla.), Rep. Sue Myrick (R-N.C.), Joseph  Farah.

 Kernel of Truth? CAIR has tried to place interns on Capitol Hill, but as it points out, that's  standard  practice for advocacy groups of all types and allegiances. There's no proof of sinister  motives or an  effort to encourage international jihad.

 - Newsweek, 02/12/2010


                                                                               

 

“CAIR is an admirable organization that has served as a positive force, working with diverse community leaders to promote mutual understanding and dialogue, protect civil liberties, and defend liberty and justice for all people in America. CAIR works to raise awareness about Islam and Muslims and has continuously and courageously condemned all forms of terrorism and extremism.”
- October 2008 letter signed by leaders of groups representing Korean Americans, Christians, Hispanic Americans, Japanese Americans and union workers.

 

“We could and would have freely and accurately characterized CAIR as a responsible and highly-esteemed force for reconciliation and sanity, both in international affairs and in deepening interfaith understanding here in the United States."
- January 2007 letter of support signed by 203 Christian, Muslim, Jewish and Baha'i leaders, professors and concerned citizens

 

“CAIR is a responsible force for reconciliation and sanity, both in international affairs and in deepening religious understanding here in America. We urge Congress to state clearly what we know is true: CAIR makes a valuable contribution to democracy and interfaith relations.”
- Dr. John B. Cobb, Jr., Professor Emeritus, Claremont School of Theology, Rev. Dr. Rita Nakashima Brock, Co-Director, Faith Voices for the Common Good, Rev. Peter Laarman, Director, Progressive Christians Uniting, Rev. Dr. Rebecca Parker, President, Starr King School for the Ministry (March 2007)

 

“As a Christian pastor, I support of the work of CAIR, Council on American Islamic Relations. This is a national group with a very balanced and effective voice that speaks up for the rights of all peoples, and especially Muslims in the United States. It is akin to the NAACP. I think that because it is so effective, it has been targeted. I have worked with CAIR locally in the Tampa Bay area and nationally supporting interfaith relations. I find the leaders to be clear, moderate, and at the same time very articulate in defending Muslim-American rights. We need groups like CAIR in these fear-mongering times.”
- Pastor Warren Clark, Tampa, FL (Source: St. Petersburg Times, 3/19/2007)

 

“The impact of your report was to give the false impression that ‘the Jewish community’ condemns CAIR and the Congressman for speaking, because you did not bother to report other Jewish opinions. Nor did you make any effort to ascertain and report that in fact CAIR speaks out strongly against terrorist attacks by Muslims, while you reported the utterly uncorroborated assertions by two local Jews that CAIR ‘has connections to terrorists.’ This kind of reporting encourages these McCarthyist assertions. It gives credence to lies. Good reporting should tell the whole story, not a one-sided version of it.” 
- Rabbi Arthur Waskow, director of the Shalom Center, in a letter to Philadelphia Enquirer reporter Tom Infield. In his letter Waskow notes that he is a Rabbi that has been “described by last week's issue of Newsweek as one of the fifty most influential rabbis in the United States, and one described by the Forward newspaper at the end of 2005 as one of the ‘Forward Fifty’ of most effective and creative Jews (not just rabbis) from the whole country…” (April 2007)

 

“I was deeply touched when I received a phone call from Mr. Ahmed Bedir of the Council on American-Islamic Relations in St. Petersburg informing me of this initiative to raise funds for the Palestine Damaged Churches. He told me that it is important in our secular society to build places of worship rather than destroy them. I wholeheartedly agree.”
- Father Guido Gockel, U.S. National Secretary, CNEWA a papal agency for humanitarian and pastoral support (October 2006)

 

“Jewish Voice for Peace - Philadelphia believes that the [Council on American-Islamic Relations], Pennsylvania, is engaged in some of the most urgent civil rights work currently being done in the Commonwealth.”
- Hannah Schwarzschild, Jewish Voice for Peace - Philadelphia (March 2007)

 

“We…acknowledge that CAIR-PA is a very excellent organization which builds bridges of understanding between Muslims and the broader culture.”
- The Interfaith Walk for Peace and Reconciliation (March 2007)

 

“We are grateful for our continuing friendships with members of CAIR-Ohio, for their credible, gracious and courageous witness to the Muslim experience in Ohio, the meaning and diversity of Islam, and the critical issues in our shared search for peace and justice and hope, here and around the world.”
- Revered John C Wagner, Miriam R. Wagner, Professor Emeritus, United Theological Seminary, United Methodist Church (2006)

 


                                                                               

 

“When you attack CAIR, you attack virtually every Muslim in America.”
- Los Angeles County Sheriff Lee Baca (Source: LA Times, 3/24/2010)

 

“The Washington Field Office of the FBI praises CAIR’s dedication in representing the heart of the Muslim American community.”
- Congratulatory letter from the Washington, DC Field Office of the FBI (October 2006)

 

“I wanted to say that we really appreciate the effort of Ahmed Bedier [Executive Director, CAIR-Tampa] here in Florida and all the good work that he does on behalf of CAIR in the community in the area of civil rights…Mr. Bedier has done a great job in reaching out to law enforcement, establishing open forums for us to exchange information in order to keep the nation safe.”
- Carl Whitehead, Special Agent in Charge, Tampa Bay, Florida Field Office of the FBI, speaking at the CAIR 2006 Tampa Banquet

 

“[CAIR-Chicago's] commitment to maintaining a dialogue leading to the frank and honest exchange of ideas, concerns and recommendations on issues affecting the communities we mutually serve is laudable."
- Weysan Dunn, former Special Agent in Charge, Springfield, Illinois Office of the FBI (February 2007)

 

“Thank you for the opportunity you extended to me to attend the 3rd Annual Banquet of the CAIR Midwest Chapter on February 11, 2007. I expect to attend the Banquet and will be present with other members of the Chicago Field Office.”
- Robert D. Grant, Special Agent in Charge, Chicago, Illinois Office of the FBI (February 2007)

 

“Of all the groups, there is probably more suspicion about CAIR, but when you ask people for cold hard facts, you get blank stares." 
- Michael Rolince, a retired F.B.I. official who directed counterterrorism in the Washington field office from 2002 to 2005 (Source: New York Times, 3/14/2007)

 

“CAIR-Chicago has shown itself to be a strong partner in our community.”
- Philip J. Cline, former Superintendent of Police, City of Chicago (February 2007)

 

“CAIR’s vision to be an advocate of civil rights and to promote peace and just is something we can all strive for.”
- Lance H. Newman, Special Agent in Charge, Tampa Bay Regional Operations Center, Florida Department of Law Enforcement (September 2006)

 

“We are fortunate to have someone of your expertise and credentials take time to address many of the over 800 attendees from Georgia’s criminal justice agencies.”
- Paul Heppner, Deputy Director, Georgia Crime Information Center, Georgia Bureau of Investigation (August 2006)

 

“Organizations such as CAIR have played a tremendous role in helping to build a statewide dialogue of diversity and partnership, working closely with the Ohio Department of Public Safety and other state partners to expand outreach efforts aimed at connecting diverse populations in our state. Through its continuing efforts, CAIR has set an outstanding example for other organizations to follow in our collective efforts to Turnaround Ohio.”
- Henry Guzmán, Director, Ohio Department of Public Safety (2006)

 

“[Community Alternative Policing Strategy] believes that the strength of any community lies in the propensity of its citizens to serve the common good; CAIR-Chicago has been an impressive agent of community organizing.”
- Vance T. Henry, Director of CAPS, City of Chicago (February 2007)

 


                                                                               

 

“Like the good folks standing with me, the American people were appalled and outraged at last Tuesday's attacks…This is a great country. It's a great country because we share the same values of respect and dignity and human worth. And it is my honor to be meeting with leaders who feel just the same way I do. They're outraged, they're sad. They love America just as much as I do.” 
- former President George W. Bush, September 17, 2001

 

“It has been a pleasure working with the Council over the years to further our mutual understanding, and I look forward to continuing our progress in the years to come.”
- Michigan Governor Jennifer M. Granholm (D) (March 2010)

 

“The vision of CAIR to promote “justice and mutual understanding” is of course also an American vision, and its mission “to enhance understating of Islam, encourage dialogue, protect civil liberties, empower American Muslims and build coalitions that promote justice and mutual understanding” is in the best traditions of American civil rights movements, both past and present.”
- New Jersey Governor John S. Corzine (D) (April 2009)

 

“Frances and I, on behalf of all Ohioans, appreciate your vision to promote justice and mutual understanding. As modern technology seems to shrink our planet, all peoples must strive to understand and respect each and every culture. This is one of CAIR's goals, that of enhancing understanding of Islam. We gather under CAIR-Ohio's theme this year "American Muslims: Connecting and Sharing" to do just that, to connect and share and get to know each other better. Muslims have been in Ohio since the 1800's and the Islamic Center in Toledo is the third mosque ever built in the United States. We honor the Muslim traditions of strong family, hard work, and education. We all deeply value the many contributions Muslims make to this great state. May God bless you!"
- Ohio Gov. Ted Strickland (D) (June 2007)

 

“As Governor and on behalf of all Pennsylvanians, I thank everyone involved with CAIR-PA for your commitment to serving the needs of our commonwealth’s Muslim community and building a stronger, more united Pennsylvania.” 
- Pennsylvania Governor Ed Rendell (D) (April 2007)

 

“I’m glad that you have established such a strong voice in the community and that you are working to maintain a strong sense of cultural and economic identity.” 
- former Maryland Gov. Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr. (R) (December 2005)

 

“I particularly want to commend CAIR for working to educate others about Islam, a religion of more than one billion people in the world. CAIR also has provided members of the Muslim community in the United States with an important voice in promoting social justice and mutual understanding. CAIR has 31 offices nationwide and in Canada and through your work you have helped promote a dialogue among employers, law enforcement officials, and government agencies. CAIR understands the importance of developing mutual understanding and trust.”
- Sen. Benjamin L. Cardin (D-MD) (November 2007)

 

“Thank you for all you do every day for your community and the nation.” 
- Sen. Barbara A. Mikulski (D-MD) (November 2007)

 

“I want to thank the Arab-American and Muslim-American leaders in Michigan and across the country for their hard work…The Council on American Islamic Relations sent a delegation to Baghdad to lobby for her release.”
- Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) speaking about the release of reporter Jill Carroll in 2006

 

“I applaud the efforts of CAIR, its Ohio chapter and the American Islamic community…”
- Sen. George V. Voinovich (R-OH) (March 2010)

 

“I applaud CAIR’s mission to enhance understanding and build coalitions that promote justice and mutual understanding.”
- Former Sen. Paul Sarbanes (D-MD) (November 2006)

 

“I applaud CAIR for its important role in advocating for civil liberties, enhancing the understanding of Islam, and condemning acts of terrorism.”
- Rep. Lois Capps (D-CA) (November 2008)

 

“CAIR has a long and distinguished history of consistent efforts that reflect a strong support for civil rights and social programs that promote the understanding and cultural heritage of the rapidly growing Muslim American community.”
- Rep. John Conyers, Jr. (D-MI) (October 2009)

 

“CAIR plays a vitally important role in Washington and around the country in its advocacy for civil liberties and its fight against bigotry and discrimination.”
- Rep. Elijah Cummings (D-MD) (November 2007)

 

“I know that the CAIR organization will continue to meet the needs of its members in the decade ahead.”
- Rep. John D. Dingell (D-MI) (March 2010)

 

“As a firm believer in civil rights, I appreciate CAIR’s effort to defend the Constitution by safeguarding the rights of all Americans against infringements of freedom of expression and religion.”
- Rep. Keith Ellison (D-MN) (October 2009)

 

“I commend you for your work on civil rights for every member of our community and for your advocacy for justice, tolerance and a better America.”
- Rep. Anna G. Eshoo (D-CA) (October 2007)

 

“Far too often, the remarkable work and achievements of organizations such as CAIR are overlooked.”
- Rep. Bob Filner (D-CA) (December 2005)

 

“I would like to commend the Council on American-Islamic Relations and the work you do defending civil liberties, empowering American Muslims and building coalitions that promote justice and mutual understanding.”
- Rep. J. Randy Forbes (R-VA) (October 2007)

 

“I applaud your efforts in educating and enhancing understanding through open dialogue.”
- Rep. Wayne T Gilchrest (R-MD) (November 2005)

 

“CAIR’s commitment to social justice and civil rights for all Americans will help our country to ensure that respect and tolerance exists for people of all religions and ethnicities.”
- Rep. Mike Honda (D-CA) (November 2008)

 

“Your dedication to the community is most admirable. Because of your efforts the lives of many citizens have been enriched.”
- Rep. Carolyn Cheeks Kilpatrick (D-MI) (November 2007 “I salute the Council for encouraging diversity, equality and acceptance of Muslim Americans. Your work is essential to making this country a more perfect union.”
- Rep. Jesse L. Jackson (D-IL) (November 2007)

 

“The Council on American-Islamic Relations has worked with diplomats, interfaith leaders, local political leaders, and people of Islamic religion or cultural descent throughout California to create a dialogue of understanding.”
- Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA) (November 2007)

 

"The achievements and goals of CAIR are commendable and I thank you for the contributions made to the great state of Texas and the nation."
- Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX) (November 2008)

 

“In a difficult environment, CAIR has much to be proud of. On the key civil rights issues of our time, CAIR has been out front. Energetic, quick to enter the debate, vigilant, CAIR has earned a reputation as a force to be reckoned with. Good thing, as the stakes could not be higher.” 
- Rep. Dennis J. Kucinich (D-OH) (October 2006)

 

“Our growing, vibrant Muslim community is an important part of the fabric of Minnesota and I am pleased that CAIR is active in representing their interests at home and nationally. CAIR’s work to increase knowledge about Islam, promote social justice and the protect[ion] of civil liberties is of great value to so many Americans.”
- Rep. Betty McCollum (D-MN) (October 2008)

 

“CAIR does important work in defending civil rights and civil liberties and educating people about the Muslim faith in communities across the country, including Seattle, which I represent in Congress.”
- Rep. Jim McDermott (D-WA) (November 2007)

 

“CAIR-NY has proudly served the Muslim community and New York City for more than thirteen years, advocating on civil rights and youth empowerment issues. Though 2010 brings many challenges, both foreign and domestic, for the United States of America, I believe within my heart that CAIR-NY will continue to strengthen the relationships it has forged with communities across New York City and educate the population about Islam.”
- Rep. Gregory Meeks (D-NY) (May 2010)



“Throughout its existence, CAIR-LA has been instrumental in promoting cultural and religious understanding of the Muslim community. I am pleased that CAIR-LA has been dedicated to building coalitions between non-Muslim and Muslim communities in an effort to eliminate stereotypes and promote tolerance, compassion and understanding. I commend CAIR-LA for playing a vital role in the integration of the Muslim community into American society in an effort to promote patriotism and pride in their home country. I look forward to a continued partnership with CAIR-LA as we strive for freedom and understanding among all who call America home.”
- Rep. Gary Miller (R-CA) (November 2008)

 

“It is through the activities of groups like CAIR that cooperation—rather than competition—between the various faiths can be achieved.”
- Rep. James P. Moran (D-VA) (October 2008)

 

“…I would like to acknowledge and commend the Council on American-Islamic Relations of the Greater Los Angeles Area for its remarkable commitment to the American-Islamic population, and for fostering cultural understanding in our community.”
- Rep. Grace Napolitano (D-CA) (November 2007)

 

“I applaud your commitment to addressing the social and economic issues that plague the Islamic community and for creating initiatives that will provide understanding, encourage dialogue and promote justice. I know that you derive satisfaction through your work, but it is also important that your accomplishments are praised by the community at large. I salute you.”
- Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC) (November 2007)

 

“With over 30 CAIR Chapters spread throughout the United States and Canada it is clear that CAIR has become the preeminent organization representing the concerns of Muslim Americans. I want to personally commend CAIR for its work on issues including civil liberties and opening dialogue with various communities in America.
- Rep. Bill Pascrell (D-NJ) (2006)

 

“I encourage further efforts to come from CAIR-NY. I appreciate your organization’s steadfast determination to protect the civil rights of Muslims in our City, our nation, and throughout the world.”
- Rep. Charles B. Rangel (D-NY) (March 2010)

 

“During these often difficult times, your message of understanding and dialogue is one that is sorely needed in this country and around the world.”
- Rep. C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD) (November 2005)

 

“I commend CAIR for promoting cultural tolerance and acceptance by empowering American Muslims to reach out to their local communities and facilitate positive change.”
- Rep. Linda T. Sanchez (D-CA) (October 2008)

“CAIR has been an exemplary civil rights organization and a leader in providing numerous opportunities and political empowerment for Muslim Americans.”
- Rep. Loretta Sanchez (D-CA) (November 2008)

 

“Thank you for your service to the people of Maryland. Your dedication, action and commitment make a difference to the quality of dialogue in our community; and I very much appreciate the opportunity to salute your achievements.”
- Rep. John P. Sarbanes (D-MD) (November 2007)

 

“The tireless efforts of CAIR and their many partners have helped make our country and our world a more unified, respectful, and more tolerant place. For that, I am truly thankful.”
- Rep. Jan Schakowsky (D-IL) (November 2006)

 

“CAIR’s core goals of enhancing understanding of Islam, promoting justice and empowering American Muslims are especially important now that the United States and our allies in the Islamic world face a common enemy in al Qaeda and its perversion of one of the world’s great religions.”
- Rep. Adam B. Schiff (D-CA) (November 2007)

 

“CAIR does such important and necessary work in a difficult environment to change such perceptions and wrongs -- from racial profiling and civil rights to promoting justice and mutual understanding -- at a time when it is challenging to be an American-Muslim."
- Rep. Joe Sestak (D-PA) (April 2007)

 

“CAIR is a leader in this fight for human dignity.”
- Rep. Pete Stark (D-CA) (October 2006)

 

“I am pleased to congratulate CAIR not only for the work it has done to promote and protect the civil liberties and civil rights of all Americans, but also for its ongoing efforts to foster a better understanding of Islam across the United States. Your work continues to make an important difference to our country.”
- Rep. Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) (December 2005)

 

“I believe, as you do, that awareness and activism are the keys to change. CAIR’s vision to promote justice and mutual understanding is essential to our nation. I commend CAIR for its dedication in encouraging the American Muslim population to take a more active role in the government.“
- Rep. Henry Waxman (D-CA) (November 2008)

 

“It is important that we recognize the many positive contributions Muslim Americans continue to make in our communities.”
- former Rep. Tom Davis (R-VA) (November 2008)


“On behalf of the United States Congress and the residents of the Eleventh Congressional District, Ohio, I commend the Council on American-Islamic Relations, Ohio for your service to our community. I extend my personal thanks to your members for all of their efforts to improve the needs of Ohio's Muslims in their quest for civil rights. Enjoy your 4th Annual Sharing Ramadan interfaith Community Iftar Banquet. It is my hope and expectation that this organization will continue to thrive and experience ongoing success."
- former Rep. Stephanie Tubbs-Jones (D-OH) (September 2007)

 

“Let me take this opportunity to commend CAIR for all of your efforts to promote the civil rights of American Muslims.”
- former Rep. Albert L. Wynn (D-MD) (November 2007)

 

“The Council on American-Islamic Relations Columbus Chapter is hereby recognized for their work as a leading advocate for justice and mutual understanding. Their unwavering adherence to the cause of enhancing the understanding of Islam, encouraging dialogue, protecting civil liberties and empowering American Muslims should serve as an inspiration to others for what can be achieved with such hard work and dedication.”
- Certificate of Commendation presented by Jennifer Brunner the 52nd Ohio Secretary of State (March 2010)

 

“Over the years, (Council on American-Islamic Relations, Cleveland)’s work and advocacy for greater understanding among cultures and religions has proven to be a blessing to our state. Your goal of promoting compassion and cooperation among diverse ethnic groups is a tremendous gift."
- Former Ohio Secretary of State, J. Kenneth Blackwell (2006)

 

“…We are pleased to be a part of CAIR-Ohio’s 13th Annual Banquet. We commend your dedicated efforts and vision as a leading advocate for justice and mutual understanding. We express our appreciation for your contribution to the welfare of our community. We wish you continued success in every endeavor.”
- Mayor Michael B. Coleman (Columbus, Ohio) (March 2010)

 

“I am pleased to join with other members of our community in recognizing CAIR’s dedication to promoting a positive image of Islam and Muslims in America. Thank you for bringing people together from all ethnic backgrounds in the pursuit of mutual understanding and respect.”
- Mayor Antonio R. Villaraigosa (Los Angeles, CA) (November 2008)

 

“I wish to commend CAIR-MI for its manifold historic achievements in the community as it continues to serve as the leading voice on civil and human rights issues affecting Michigan Muslims.”
-Mayor Vig Bernero (Lansing, MI) (March 2010)

 

“For 10 years CAIR-MI has worked to promote a positive view of Islam and Muslims in America, protect civil rights for everyone and encourage understanding and justice for all. Your efforts have had a positive impact on the residents of Dearborn and the region. We support your important mission.
- Mayor John B. O’Reilly, Jr. (Dearborn, MI) (March 2010)

 

“By sponsoring seminars and classes, as well as interfaith dialogue in conjunction with churches, synagogues, mosques and other religious and educational institutions, CAIR-Philadelphia makes an invaluable contribution to the greater understanding of Islam and American Muslims within our communities.”
- Mayor Michael A. Nutter (Philadelphia, PA) (April 2010)

 

“For over a decade, since its inception, CAIR-NY fights daily seeking equality and justice for all. Doing this, they benefit not merely New Yorkers making up the country’s largest Muslim population, many facing religious persecution or racial discrimination, they also help to demonstrate the strength and beauty of America’s diverse democracy.” 
- New York State Senator Bill Perkins (March 2010)

 

“Your fight for those who don’t have the resources to defend themselves is invaluable. The advocacy efforts of your organization are vital to all American Muslims, Americans, our community and our state.”
- Michigan State Representative Rashida H. Tlaib (March 2010)

 

“Your organization has worked diligently to help others and you are to be commended on behalf of the many people who have benefited from your contributions. I am proud to express my gratitude to all of the dedicated individuals who have provided an outstanding example of patriotism in action over this decade.”
- Michigan State Representative Bob Constan (March 2010)

 

“…I would like to thank CAIR-NY and its dedicated [sic] for the very important work they are doing to help serve and protect our City’s growing Muslim community.”
- New York, New York City Council Speaker Christine C. Quinn (May 2010)

 

“CAIR-Ohio is committed to educating the public and public officials on important Muslim values such as emphasis on strong families, improving neighborhoods and protecting the civil liberties of all residents so that there may be greater harmony and a better America.”
- Columbus, Ohio City Council (June 2007)

 

“The Franklin County Board of Commissioners extend on behalf of all the people of Franklin County sincere thanks to CAIR – Ohio for their efforts to advocate for freedom, democracy, and human rights for all Americans.”
- Mary Jo Kilroy, Paula Brooks, and Dewey Stokes, Board of County Commissioners, Franklin County, Ohio (2006)

 


                                                                               

“Thank you [CAIR Cleveland] so very much for organizing and leading my recent meeting with Muslim women… You provided me with yet another opportunity to learn and absorb information about what makes up the family of Ohio’s people.”
- Ohio’s First Lady, Frances Strickland (2006)

 

“Muslims across the nation are proud of the Council on American-Islamic Relations for being the ambassadors for Muslims in the United States."
- Munir Adhami (Source: Letter to the Editor published in the Los Angeles Times, 1/11/ 2007)

 

“The FBI and other agencies have repeatedly used CAIR to build bridges with the Muslim community, and the ‘apologist’ tag certainly wasn't shared by the high-ranking Republican who met with the group at an Islamic center after 9/11: President Bush.” 
(Source: New Jersey Star Ledger Editorial, 3/16/2007)

 

“A small band of critics have made a determined but unsuccessful effort to link it to Hamas and Hezbollah, which have been designated as terrorist organizations by the State Department, and have gone so far as calling the group an American front for the two." 
(Source: New York Times, 3/14/2007)

 

“Government officials in Washington said they were not aware of any criminal investigation of the group. More than one described the standards used by critics to link CAIR to terrorism as akin to McCarthyism, essentially guilt by association.” 
(Source: New York Times, 3/14/2007)

 

“One Arab-American advocate compared CAIR to ‘the tough cousin who curses at anyone who speaks badly about the family.'"
(Source: New York Times, 3/14/2007)

 

“Already fighting on behalf of American Muslims is the Council on American-Islamic Relations, or CAIR, as it is commonly known. The organization…has developed a reputation for being something of a pit bull in protecting the civil rights of Muslims." 
(Source: The Indianapolis Star, 9/04/2005)

 

“The United Way of Hernando County would like to thank [CAIR-Florida] for your generous donation of $5,000 to support the annual Thanksgiving Day Baskets for veterans and the needy.”
- Kathy Jones, Interim Executive Director, United Way of Hernando County (November 2006)

 

“I remember meeting some of you in 2004 at the voting station when CAIR mobilized community members and provided busses to transport voters to the polls after Friday prayer. CAIR’s partnership in the Get Out The Vote campaign shows its commitment to being a voice to the American-Muslim community and should be applauded.”

- Buddy Johnson, Supervisor of Elections, Hillsborough County, Florida (August 2006)

 

“It was overwhelming, their support."

- Host Gator Co. President Brent Oxley after CAIR supporters "swamped" the web host with "literally thousands" of complaints about Right Wing Howler, a blog whose author expressed support for the sentiment "...we need to kill all Muslim kids. Starting now." The web site was shut down. (Source: St. Petersburg Times, 12/20/2006)

 

“The efforts of the Council on American-Islamic Relations (CAIR) in improving cross cultural communications is commendable.”
- Brigadier General Mark Wheeler, Chairman Senior National Representatives Coordination Group, United States Central Command (February 2007)

 

“… (T)he Council on American-Islamic Relations has emerged as a vigilant force against discrimination against Muslims.”
(Source: East Valley Tribune, 1/19/2008)

 

“Since 1994, CAIR has employed a well-rounded plan in its role as a top Muslim voice in the US.”
(Source: PR Week, 11/04/2002)

 

“The Council on American Islamic Relations, among the more effective lobbies for Muslim Americans' civil liberties…”
(Source: Salon.com, 7/10/2008)

 

“I want to express my deepest gratitude to CAIR-Ohio for helping me with my legal problems. I know I am never alone as long as we have CAIR-Ohio to help all Muslims in Ohio. The lawyer of CAIR-Ohio helped me when my landlord was discriminating against me on the basis of my religion and race. I now know about whom to call if my legal rights are being taken away. Thanks to everybody at CAIR-Ohio who are providing a great service to the Muslim community.”
- Ahmed Hamud, Columbus, Ohio (2007)

 

“Organizations such as CAIR have played a tremendous role in helping to build a statewide dialogue of diversity and partnership…”
- Henry Guzman, Director, Ohio Department of Public Safety (2006)

 

“I would like to express my sincere gratitude to you, and the entire CAIR Board, for the gracious invitation to speak and attend the first CAIR MN banquet last week. I don't mind telling you I was a little nervous about being there and worried about the negative potential impact I might have on the attendees but my worries were for nothing. I was most absolutely treated as if I were an honored guest and was treated with the highest amount of respect. I felt more like a friend than a stranger. As a matter of fact, I believe I even made a few very wonderful new friends!”
- Ken Rodgers, former President of American Council of the Blind, Minnesota Chapter (June 2007)